Women's Swimming & Diving

2 All-America Selections | 3 National Qualifiers | 9 League Champions

Meet Preview: Swimming & Diving at Wellesley

Meet Preview: Swimming & Diving at Wellesley

Swimming & Diving at Wellesley
Men vs. Coast Guard | Women vs. Wellesley/Coast Guard
Thursday, January 11—1 p.m.
Chandler Pool—Wellesley, Mass.

The Beavers will renew their rivalry with Wellesley and Coast Guard on Thursday afternoon. The Babson men will take on the Bears in a dual meet, while the women will face both Coast Guard and the host Blue in a double dual meet for the ninth time in the last 10 seasons.

The Babson women have dropped 16 consecutive meets against Coast Guard and 10 straight against Wellesley. On the men's side, the Green and White will take on the Bears for the 16th time in the last 18 years and is looking for its first win in the series since 2002.

The Beavers recorded 14 combined top-three finishes as the women fell to Wellesley (235-48) and Coast Guard (225-58), while the men suffered a 187-86 loss to the Bears. The Green and White picked up its lone victory of the day behind the performance of Anton Pronichenko '17, Kevin Shivers '17, senior Mitchell Posk and sophomore Alex Damiecki in the men's 200-yard medley relay. Paris Ekman '17 came in second in the women's 1-meter diving event and was third on the 3-meter board.

Wellesley (3-2) returns to action for the first time since splitting a double dual meet with Trinity and Wheaton back on December 8. The Blue defeated the Bantams, 135-107, and fell to the Lyons, 151-89. First-year Noelle Bergere won the 3-meter diving event, while sophomore Kayleigh Svensson and first-year Emily Yeager came in second in the 500 free and 200 free, respectively. Junior Jessie Feng came in third both the 200 free and 100 butterfly.

The Coast Guard women (1-3) have been idle since finishing second at the five-team Connecticut Cup back on December 2. Junior Kristen Young won both the 100- and 200-yard freestyle events, while first-year Emily Benson and classmate Sarah Passilla collected victories in the 1000 free and 200 IM, respectively. The trio also teamed with senior Jackie Kokomoor to touch the wall first in the 400 free relay…the Coast Guard men (3-1) are coming off a win in the three-team Connecticut Cup in early December. The Bears won 17 of 22 events, led by three from junior Chasse Sodemann (50 breast, 100 breast, 200 IM). Senior Ross Garrett (50 butterfly, 100 butterfly) and juniors Patrick Jackson (100 back, 200 back) and Tyler Rowe (500 free, 1000 free) all picked up two victories apiece.

The Babson women (2-6) are coming off a 152-108 victory at Western New England on Monday. The Beavers finished first in 11 of 14 events, led by three individual wins apiece by first-years Celine Nie (50 butterfly, 100 butterfly, 200 IM) and Jordan Mailly (200 free, 500 free, 100 back). Sophomore Tirza Rentovich touched the wall first in the 50- and 100-yard freestyle in addition to being a part of two relay wins…the Babson men (5-2) defeated Springfield, 172-121, for their fourth consecutive dual meet victory on Sunday. The Green and White won 10 of 14 swimming events, led by first-place finishes in the 100 free, 500 free and 200 butterfly from sophomore Jack Lucero. Senior Mitchell Posk (50 free, 100 free) and Damiecki (200 free, 100 butterfly) claimed a pair of individual events apiece and were involved in both of Babson's relay wins.

Five members of the Beavers' men's squad were honored when the NEWMAC released its weekly awards on Monday. Lucero was selected as the league's swimmer of the week, while Posk, Damiecki and first-years Kevin Luu and Lachlan Dibbayawan were tabbed as the relay team of the week for their effort in the 200 medley relay.

First-year Julia Ferrara won the 1000 free with her best time of the season (12:11.78) in Monday's meet at Western New England, while juniors Olivia Gilbert and Tessa Amoroso both competed for the first time during the 2017-18 campaign.

The Babson men enter Thursday's contest having won four straight dual meets for the first time since 2013.