Women's Soccer

1 NCAA Tournament | 4 Conference Championships

Three From Women's Soccer Receive NEWMAC Postseason Honors

Three From Women's Soccer Receive NEWMAC Postseason Honors

BOSTON, Mass.—Following a 10-win season and a third trip to the conference semifinals in the last four seasons, the Babson College women's soccer team had a trio of players named to the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) All-Conference teams on Tuesday.

Senior Carley Martyniak (Foxborough, Mass.) and junior Jessica DiPhilippo (Falmouth, Mass.) each garnered first-team accolades, while first-year Jennifer Narlee (Medfield, Mass.)was named to the second team.

Martyniak was selected for the All-NEWMAC squad for the first time in her career after anchoring one of the region's top defensive units this fall. She started all 19 matches and was pivotal in helping the Beavers post 10 shutouts while holding 15 of their 19 opponents to one goal or less on the year. For her career, she started 63 of 66 matches and finished with four assists.

DiPhilippo earned All-Conference honors for the third straight season after being selected to the second team in both 2011 and 2012. Despite missing two matches due to injury, she finished tied for sixth in the league scoring with  career-highs of seven goals and 20 points. She notched a pair of game-winning goals while assisting on two others. Through three years she is currently tied for seventh all-time with 16 assists and is tied for 15th on the all-time points list with 44.

Narlee had a terrific first year for the Green and White, starting all 19 matches and spending time at both center back and later as a central midfielder. Along with Martyniak, she was a key performer on defense for the Beavers, who conceded just 15 goals and held opponents to a 0.73 goals against average, good for second-lowest in the NEWMAC. Narlee also notched one assist on the year.

Babson, which finished the season at 10-4-5, saw its season come to an end on Saturday in the conference tournament semifinals where it fell to MIT on penalty kicks.