Women's Soccer

1 NCAA Tournament | 4 Conference Championships

Wojnar, DiPhilippo Headline NEWMAC Women's Soccer Awards

Wojnar, DiPhilippo Headline NEWMAC Women's Soccer Awards

BABSON PARK, Mass. —- After posting an 11-5-2 record this fall the Babson College women's soccer team received multiple honors when the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its annual postseason award winners on Tuesday. Senior captain Lisa Wojnar (Bellaire, Texas) was named NEWMAC Co-Player of the Year, while first-year Jessica DiPhilippo (Falmouth, Maine) was chosen as the conference Rookie of the Year. In addition, juniors Amy Festa (Medfield, Mass.) and Kelly Hanly (Cortlandt Manor, N.Y.) joined Wojnar on the All-Conference First Team, and DiPhilippo was selected to the All-NEWMAC Second Team.

Rounding out Babson's list of postseason honorees was sophomore Kristen Dombrowski (New Hartford, Conn.), who was named to the NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Team in her first year of eligibility for the award.

Selected as the NEWMAC Co-Player of the Year along with Springfield's Jackie Moscardelli, Wojnar posted 10 shutouts and held opponents to a 0.58 goals against average while making 114 saves to earn All-Conference accolades for the second straight year. Wojnar, a Second Team selection last fall, started 36 games in net for the Beavers over her final two seasons and posted a 21-11-4 record with 19 shutouts. She was also honored as the NEWMAC Defensive Player of the Week three times this fall. Wojnar earned Babson's first conference Player of the Year honor since All-American and Babson Athletics Hall of Famer Julie Tienken '94 in 1993. Together, Tienken and Wojnar are the only two players in program history to earn the accolade.

DiPhilippo was chosen as the NEWMAC Rookie of the Year after finishing the season as the top first-year scorer in the conference with 14 points. Also the Beavers' top scorer this year, DiPhilippo tallied six goals and added two assists in 17 games, including four game-winning goals. Twice, DiPhilippo was selected as the NEWMAC Offensive Player of the Week. She earned the program's first Rookie of the Year award since Eileen Connolly '98 was honored by the NEW 8 Conference in 1994. DiPhilippo is the fourth player in program history to garner the Rookie of the Year award, joining Connolly, Janice Cuttler '96, and Helen Karalis '95.

Festa earns All-Conference honors for the third straight season and is a First Team selection for the second time in her career. A First Team All-NEWMAC and Second Team NSCAA All-New England selection in 2009, the junior midfielder was second on the team in scoring this fall with 12 points (four goals, four assists) while tallying a pair of game-winning goals. Festa becomes the fourth player in Babson history to earn All-Conference accolades in three straight seasons.

Making her first appearance on the NEWMAC All-Conference First Team, Hanly, an outside back, had a terrific junior season helping to anchor one of the top defenses in New England. Hanly started all 18 games and contributed one game-winning goal and tied for the team lead with four assists.

Babson wrapped up its season with a fourth-place finish in the NEWMAC and recorded double-digit victories for the second consecutive season. The Beavers were upset in the conference quarterfinals, 1-0, by fifth-seeded Clark University.