Women's Lacrosse

7 NCAA Tournaments | 7 Conference Championships

Program History

The Babson's women's lacrosse program achieved varsity status in 1987. The team reached regional prominence in 1996, going 14-2 overall, finishing first in the conference and earning its first-ever bid to the ECAC Tournament. The Beavers then had another strong showing the following year, as they went 10-4 and placed second in the NEW 8.

After finishing fourth in the conference in each of the next four years, Babson once again challenged for the league title in 2002, tying for second in the seven-team NEWMAC. The Beavers' eight wins--their highest win total in five years--also helped them earn their second bid to the ECAC Tournament. The squad then reached double-digit wins for just the third time in team history in 2004, going 10-8 and claiming its third berth to the ECAC Tourney.

Following another 10-8 campaign in 2006, Babson erupted onto the national scene in 2007, going 15-3, winning its first-ever NEWMAC Championship, and earning its first bid to the NCAA Tournament. In addition to setting a new program record for victories (15) and goals (265), the Beavers also earned their highest national ranking ever (9th) and set a new program mark with six All-New England and two All-American honorees. That set the stage for the greatest season in program history in 2008, when Babson went 16-3, won their second straight NEWMAC Championship, and earned their first-ever NCAA Tournament victory with a 19-10 First Round win over Trinity. The team once again set a new single-season record for wins while finishing the year ranked 11th in the country and garnering five more All-New England and two more All-American honors. Leading the way was Anita Martignetti '08, who collected her second straight NEWMAC Athlete of the Year award and second consecutive All-America selection after setting new program records for assists (66) and points (256).

In 2009, Babson extended its brilliant run by finishing 15-3, collecting its third consecutive NEWMAC Championship, and advancing to the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament for the third straight year. Anna Collins '10 led the Beavers with a single-season program record 75 goals and 91 points to earn NEWMAC Athlete of the Year and Second Team All-America honors. In addition, Trisha Babson '12 became the program's fifth consecutive NEWMAC Rookie of the Year. Then in 2010, the Beavers made it four straight conference titles and four straight trips to the NCAA Sweet 16, finishing 15-4 and extending its conference winning streak to 32 games. Individually, Third Team All-American Kaitlyn Pettengill '10 and First Team All-American and two-time NEWMAC Player of the Year Anna Collins '10 finished 1-2 on Babson's all-time goals and points lists, while Jamie Spang '13 secured the program's sixth straight NEWMAC Rookie of the Year honor.

The Beavers' dominance continued in 2011, when the team overcame a 3-7 start to finish 10-8, win its fifth straight NEWMAC Championship, and earn his fifth consecutive trip to the NCAA Tournament. Babson then went 13-3 - including a 12-game winning streak - and finished atop the league's regular season standings before falling in the title game in 2012.

Record Book

Yearly History
Career Scoring Leaders
Single-Season Scoring Leaders
• Career Goalkeeping Leaders
• Single-Season Goalkeeping Leaders
• Team Records


Regional Awards
Conference Awards

All-Time Results

NCAA Tournament
Conference Tournament
All-time Opponent History
Record vs. Opponents (by Year)
Record vs. Opponents (by Team)

Previous Seasons' Results/News Releases and Statistics