Women's Lacrosse

7 NCAA Tournaments | 7 Conference Championships

Best of Babson Athletics 2017-18: Moment #7

Best of Babson Athletics 2017-18: Moment #7

Women's Lacrosse Breaks Away Late to Edge Springfield for Second Consecutive NEWMAC Tournament Crown

BABSON PARK, Mass.—Senior Julia Harrigan (Portsmouth, R.I.) scored twice during a three-goal spurt over the final five minutes that helped the Babson College women's lacrosse team break a late deadlock on its way to defeating Springfield College, 15-13, to claim its second consecutive New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Tournament championship on May 6 at MacDowell Field.

Despite trailing by as many as three goals with less than 10 minutes to go in the first half, the Beavers pulled within one at the break and ripped off four straight tallies to go in front 10-7 on first-year Sara O'Connor's (Marshfield, Mass.) marker with 25:16 to go in the contest. The Pride tied the game at 12-12 with 6:13 left only to watch Harrigan score twice and junior Lexi Lenaghan (Hanover, Mass.) add another goal to push Babson's margin back to three with 2:19 remaining.

Lenaghan finished with four goals and one assist, while Harrigan, who was selected as the NEWMAC Tournament Most Outstanding Player, and O'Connor each scored three times to lead the Green and White. First-year Cricket Fligor (Weston, Mass.) made a then-career-high 12 saves in the victory, which secured the Beavers' seventh tournament crown since 2007 and the program's first back-to-back titles since winning five straight from 2007-11.

After defeating Castleton 17-4 in the first round of the NCAA Tournament, Babson saw its season come to a close with a loss to eventual Division III runner-up Middlebury in the second round.