Women's Lacrosse

7 NCAA Tournaments | 7 Conference Championships

NEWMAC Women's Lacrosse Championship Preview

NEWMAC Women's Lacrosse Championship Preview

NEWMAC Women's Lacrosse Championship
Saturday-Sunday, May 5-6
MacDowell Field—Babson Park, Mass.

Saturday, May 5
No. 1 Babson vs. No. 5 Coast Guard, 12 p.m.
No. 2 MIT vs. No. 3 Springfield, 3 p.m.

Sunday, May 6
Semifinal winners, 1 p.m.

Babson will host the NEWMAC Tournament for the second time in three years after coming out of a three-way tie with MIT and Springfield with the top seed. Both the Engineers and Pride are in the NCAA regional rankings for the third week in a row, while upstart Coast Guard is making its first conference tournament appearance in the program's fourth season of existence. The Beavers are looking to become the league's first repeat champions since Springfield in 2012 and 2013.

No. 1 Babson vs. No. 5 Coast Guard
Babson is 4-0 all-time against Coast Guard in a series that back to just 2015. The Green and White won the regular season meeting 19-14 back on April 14 in New London, Conn.

The Beavers and Bears will meet for the first time in the NEWMAC Tournament.

Fifth-seeded Coast Guard (12-6) scored seven of the game's final nine goals to rally for an 8-7 victory over fourth-seeded Wheaton in its NEWMAC Tournament debut on Wednesday. Senior Daria McKenna (36-37-73) ranks fourth in the conference in points, first-year Brenna Farrington (60-3-63) is second in the league in goals, and classmate Marietta Davis has contributed 46 goals and 51 points. Fellow first-year Haley Howard (13-28-41) leads the Bears with 66 draw controls and 40 ground balls, while junior Leah Llewellyn has a team-high 31 caused turnovers. First-years Mary Budri and Rebecca Dolan have posted a 10.89 goals against average and a .425 save percentage on the year.

Top-seeded Babson (10-7) is hosting the NEWMAC Tournament for the seventh time since 2007. Junior Lexi Lenaghan (54-29-83) ranks second in the conference in points, classmate Taylor Thorbahn (22-22-44) is tied for sixth in the league in assists, and senior Julia Harrigan (31-8-39) is fifth in the NEWMAC with a career-high 85 draw controls. First-year Sara O'Connor has contributed 32 draw controls, 22 ground balls and 13 caused turnovers, while junior Maria Bravo paces the defense with 41 ground balls and 19 caused turnovers. First-year Cricket Fligor and junior Olivia Phelan have combined to post an 11.00 goals against average and a .348 save percentage.

No. 2 MIT vs. No. 3 Springfield
Springfield has dominated the all-time series with 23 victories in 24 meetings going back to 1999, which includes a 15-8 win over the Engineers back on March 24.

The Pride and Engineers will meet for the third time in four years and fifth time overall in the conference playoffs on Saturday with Springfield having won three of the previous four matchups. The last three games between the teams have been decided by a total of four goals.

Third-seeded Springfield (13-5) extended its winning streak to eight with a 14-4 victory over sixth-seeded Smith in a NEWMAC quarterfinal on Wednesday night. Senior Shelby Corsano (57-21-78), the program's single-season leader in goals and points, ranks third in the league in scoring and is fourth with 88 draw controls. Classmate Kayla Schroeher (35-13-48) and first-year Kate Sarnacki (22-20-42) have combined for 57 goals, while senior Ann Mahoney (23-8-31) leads the team with 45 ground balls and 35 caused turnovers. Sophomore goalkeeper Brenna Keefe leads the NEWMAC in both goals against average (7.06) and save percentage (.523).

Second-seeded MIT (11-5) enters the NEWMAC Tournament riding a nine-game winning streak. Senior Emily Young (75-34-109) ranks 11th in Division III in points, first in the NEWMAC in goals and second in the league with 89 draw controls, while junior Cecilia McCormick (53-14-67) has produced four straight multi-goal games. Senior Katie Notarangelo (58-3-61) leads the conference with 99 draw controls and the team with 39 ground balls and 31 caused turnovers, and junior Ana Flooks (15-41-56) is 25th in the country in assists. Senior goalkeeper Eva Boal has posted an 11.30 goals against average and a .425 save percentage in 14 games this spring.

Going back to 2011, the top seed has won the conference tournament just once in seven years. Wheaton captured both the regular season and tournament championships in 2014. Babson was upset while hosting in both 2012 and 2016, and the Beavers went to Springfield and beat the top-seeded Pride in last year's title game.

The Beavers have outscored NEWMAC opponents 77-34 this spring.