Blinstrub, Grant, Higa, and Miller Inducted Into Athletics Hall of Fame

Blinstrub, Grant, Higa, and Miller Inducted Into Athletics Hall of Fame

BABSON PARK, Mass. -- This past Friday night, Babson College inducted four new members into its prestigious Athletics Hall of Fame. Coaching legend Judy Blinstrub, men's lacrosse star Chris Grant '81, baseball great Kevin Higa '03, and men's basketball standout Matt Miller '93 were all enshrined as part of the 13th induction class, bringing the Hall's total membership to 56.
One of Babson’s most successful and respected coaches and administrators, Blinstrub has recorded more victories than any other coach in school history. Before stepping down in 2005, she guided the women’s soccer team to 200 wins, four conference championships, and six ECAC New England Tournament bids during 21 seasons. In basketball, she has led the Beavers to 474 victories, six conference championships, eight ECAC Tournament bids, and six NCAA Tournament appearances in 27 seasons. This past winter, she guided her team to an amazing 30–1 mark, a third straight NEWMAC Championship, and the program’s second consecutive trip to the National Quarterfinals. She has been named Conference Coach of the Year 12 times, was tabbed the New England Women’s Basketball Association Coach of the Year on four occasions, was selected as the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association District Coach of the Year twice, and is the only women’s coach in NCAA Division III history with at least 200 wins in soccer and 400 victories in basketball. A member of the Northeast Women’s Hall of Fame as well as the Athletics Hall of Fame at her alma mater Bridgewater State, Blinstrub also has positively influenced countless student-athletes as Babson’s Senior Women’s Administrator and Associate Director of Athletics.

The program’s all-time leader with 137 assists and 231 points, Chris Grant helped lead the men’s lacrosse team to a 38–15 record during his four-year career, including its finest season in 1979. His 47 assists that spring remains a single-season program record, while his 61 total points is the fifth-highest total in Babson history. With Grant leading the attack, Babson won the Colonial Division Championship and earned the program’s first NCAA Tournament bid. Grant then led the Beavers to a second straight league title in 1980—a year in which he was named to both the All-Conference and All-New England Teams.
One of the most talented players to ever grace the Babson diamond, Kevin Higa helped lead the baseball program to 83 wins, four consecutive ECAC New England Tournament bids, and the program’s second ECAC Championship in 2002. In 143 games, he recorded 198 hits, 136 runs scored, 41 doubles, 10 triples, 137 RBI, and 313 total bases—each of which ranks second among Babson’s all-time leaders. In addition, his 18 home runs are third most all-time (first among right-handed hitters), his .353 average is seventh highest, and his two 19-game hit streaks are the second longest in program history. Higa still holds six single-season Babson baseball records, including 68 hits, 50 RBI, and 117 total bases in 2002.

A force at both ends of the court, Matt Miller helped lead the men’s basketball team to a remarkable record of 62–17 during his three years in the Green and White. During his time on the court, Babson earned a pair of ECAC New England Tournament bids as well as the program’s first NCAA Tournament berth in 1992. Averaging 14.8 points and 5.8 rebounds per game, Miller was a two-time Constitution Athletic Conference (CAC) All-Star and was named CAC Player of the Year, NABC All-Northeast Second Team, and ECAC All-New England Second Team in 1993. His 1,109 career points placed him 10th on Babson’s all-time scoring list at the time of his graduation, and it remains the 17th highest total in team history.
As part of the ceremony, each of the inductees was presented by a speaker of their choice. Longtime Assistant Baseball Coach and Professor of Marketing Norman Govoni presented both Blinstrub and Higa, current Men's Basketball Coach Stephen Brennan inducted Miller, and men's lacrosse standout Jay Conroy '81 presented Grant. The event also featured remarks from Vice President of the Babson Alumni and Friends Network Carol Hacker and Director of Athletics Josh MacArthur.

Begun in 1991, the Hall of Fame represents the highest honor awarded by the Babson Athletics Department. Requiring more than just individual greatness, membership in the Hall of Fame has always signified leadership, dedication to one's sport and to the College, good sportsmanship, and a willingness to sacrifice one's personal glory for the good of the team. Each member was committed to his or her teammates, coaches, and to the College, and each one represented Babson with dignity, grace, and pride both in and out of competition.